KNAW Repository

The Amsterdam Declaration on Fungal Nomenclature

Hawksworth, D.L. and Crous, P.W. and Redhead, S.A. and Reynolds, D.R. and Samson, R.A. and Seifert, K.A. and Taylor, J.E. and Wingfield, M.J. and Abaci, Ö. and Aime, C. and Asan, A. and Bai, F.H. and Beer de, Z.W. and Begerow, D. and Berikten, D. and Boekhout, T. and Buchanan, P.K. and Burgess, T.I. and Buzina, W. and Cai, L. and Cannon, P.F. and Crane, J.L. and Damm, U. and Daniel, H.M. and Diepeningen van, A.D. and Druzhinina, I. and Dyer, P.S. and Eberhardt, U. and Fell, J.W. and Frisvad, J.C. and Geiser, D.M. and Geml, J. and Glienke, C. and Gräfenhan, T. and Groenewald, J.Z. and Groenewald, M. and Gruyter de, J. and Guého-Kellermann, E. and Guo, L-D. and Hibbett, D.S. and Hong, S.B. and Hoog de, G.S. and Houbraken, J. and Huhndorf, S.M. and Hyde, K.D. and Ismail, A. and Johnston, P.R. and Kadaifciler, D.G. and Kirk, P.M. and Kõljalg, U. and Kurtzman, C.P. and Lagneau, P-E. and Lévesque, C.A. and Liu, X.S. and Lombard, L. and Meyer, W. and Miller, A.N. and Minter, D.W. and Najafzadeh, M.J. and Norvell, L.L. and Ozerskaya, S.M. and Öziç, R. and Pennycook, S.R. and Peterson, S.W. and Pettersson, O.V. and Quaedvlieg, W. and Robert, V. and Ruibal, C. and Schnürer, J. and Schroers, H.J. and Shivas, R.G. and Slippers, B. and Spierenburg, H. and Takashima, M. and Taşkın, E. and Thines, M. and Thrane, U. and Uztan, A.H. and Raak van, M. and Varga, J. and Vasco, A. and Verkley, G.J.M. and Videira, S.I.R. and Vries de, R.P. and Weir, B.S. and Yilmaz, N. and Yurkov, A. and Zhang, N. (2011) The Amsterdam Declaration on Fungal Nomenclature. IMA Fungus, 2, 105-112. ISSN 2210-6340.

PDF - Published Version
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution Non-commercial No Derivatives.


Official URL:


The Amsterdam Declaration on Fungal Nomenclature was agreed at an international symposium convened in Amsterdam on 19-20 April 2011 under the auspices of the International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi (ICTF). The purpose of the symposium was to address the issue of whether or how the current system of naming pleomorphic fungi should be maintained or changed now that molecular data are routinely available. The issue is urgent as mycologists currently follow different practices, and no consensus was achieved by a Special Committee appointed in 2005 by the International Botanical Congress to advise on the problem. The Declaration recognizes the need for an orderly transitition to a single-name nomenclatural system for all fungi, and to provide mechanisms to protect names that otherwise then become endangered. That is, meaning that priority should be given to the first described name, except where that is a younger name in general use when the first author to select a name of a pleomorphic monophyletic genus is to be followed, and suggests controversial cases are referred to a body, such as the ICTF, which will report to the Committee for Fungi. If appropriate, the ICTF could be mandated to promote the implementation of the Declaration. In addition, but not forming part of the Declaration, are reports of discussions held during the symposium on the governance of the nomenclature offungi, and the naming of fungi known only from an environmental nucleic acid sequence in particular. Possible amendments to the<I> Draft BioCode</I> (2011) to allow for the needs of mycologists are suggested for further consideration, and a possible example of how a fungus only known from the environment might be described is presented. [KEYWORDS: ANAMORPH; ARTICLE 59; BIOCODE; CANDIDATE SPECIES; ENVIRONMENTAL SEQUENCES; INTERNATIONAL CODE OF BOTANICAL NOMENCLATURE; MYCOCODE; PLEOMORPHIC FUNGI; TELEOMORPH]

Item Type:Article
Institutes:Centraalbureau voor Schimmelcultures (CBS)
ID Code:12793
Deposited On:23 Nov 2012 14:16
Last Modified:29 Nov 2012 04:00

Repository Staff Only: item control page